top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOphelia Vang

Welcome and updates

There are times when I think I could never have anything insightful to say. I keep all of my words inside in order to make space for all of the people who are so impassioned that they must know what they are talking about far more than I ever could. The internet is a noisy place, after all, full of all types of people.

Then sometimes, I'm proven wrong with such intensity that I question my entire crippling imposter syndrome and feel okay again.

With that in mind, I've created a space for myself to be as noisy as I please, and to share my writing in the hopes that it does not intrude but merely exists for those who are interested. Inoffensively offensive.

I will be using this space infrequently to make updates on my writing process or releases or perhaps the occasional essay, or maybe a painting.


I have just turned 29 years old. My favorite band has released a new album on the same day that I released my first book. I am reunited with my family after a long absence.

I have made the decision to pursue writing full-time. I feel a great desperation in me, a sense that I must be successful. I am lucky in being a person who, when asked "What is your reason for living?" I have an answer. I am lucky that I have the opportunity to try.

I feel a sense in myself that this is some kind of cosmic luck to have a start like this.

I am continuing my studies and will continue to improve my writing as well.


Speaking of cosmic luck, the piece I'm writing now, 2 Monstrous Nuclear Stockpiles, is a very indulgent and fun novella, pricked with references to the international music I love so well and full of characters that are so chaotic and reckless you can't help but cringe. Good thing they have luck on their side.

The word "skettlepunk" which I use everywhere as my username (@skettlepunk) was born of this work. It's a scummy term that people call one of the main characters, Yo-Yo, meaning one who partakes in sexual pleasures of the seedy underbelly of society. Necessary evils. A skettle is a derogatory word for a promiscuous woman, but I only learned that on accident when I thought I was making gibberish up from the top of my head, and so a skettlepunk was born.


Until next time.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2022 by Ophelia Vang. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page